60 Stamps In 60 Days

From the Stamp Collection of Mark Jochim

From the Stamp Collection of Mark Jochim

I thought I would take a moment and reflect on the past sixty days of A Stamp A Day.  I’m a bit surprised that I haven’t missed a day yet, although some days have been difficult either to put together an entry or get it posted on the blog.  My internet service at home is unreliable — often extremely slow and doesn’t work at all when it rains (and we are in the middle of our annual monsoon season so it rains A LOT).  The speed at work isn’t much better on most days.  This means that uploading the images can be a bit of a trial-and-error as I tend to scan at 1200 dots per inch (dpi) for the highest resolution I can manage.

My main source for these entries is Wikipedia — I always check the country pages and the ‘stamps and postal history’ pages (if there are any) — but some stamp issuing entities can be quite complicated to piece together.  I’m afraid to leave out a key piece of information so the articles are (often) quite lengthy. Many times, I am learning paragraph by paragraph. Some entries are cut-and-pasted while others are written fresh. A lot of this depends on the amount of free time I have between classes (I’m a teacher) and other duties (I’m deputy head teacher).  Many articles will take between thirty and sixty minutes from first draft to published blog but others (the National Park Service centennial, for example) take a long longer to put together.

Other regular sources include the Big Blue 1840-1940 and Dead Countries Stamps and Banknotes blogs, while the sadly-defunct Stamps of Distinction assisted with some of the “A” issuers. Another excellent resource is Stamp World History which is a relatively new blog (I first noticed it about a year and a half ago).  I’m also finding numerous interesting pages about some of these places and stamp issues as I go along.  My bookmarks folder is really filling up!

The entries have been roughly alphabetical, with occasional breaks for national holidays and other commemorations reflecting my own interests.  I have lived in Thailand for the past ten and a half years so I am attempting to mark the many Thai subjects that come up on the calendar.

All stamps pictured are from my own collection. While my “A’s” are relatively complete (missing perhaps a half-dozen entities — Amur Province comes to mind), my “B’s” and “C’s” currently have some major gaps.  For example, we just passed Bamra and Baranya would have been the next entry following today’s Bangladesh.  Barwani would have come up in a few days time.  Once I come to that spot in the alphabet, I simply skip the stamp issuer if I don’t have an example in my collection.  When I do obtain a copy, I will be sure to add an entry to the blog as soon as I can.  But don’t hold your breath for any of the Confederate or United States postmaster’s provisionals.  Those, I fear, will always be outside of my budget.

I do hope you are enjoying reading the entries as much as I’m enjoying compiling them.  At this point, I don’t remember if I started collecting stamps because of my love of history or if I became fascinated with history as a result of the stamps. Today, they co-exist, along with my interests in geography, travel, culture, and languages. I hope this blog reflects those interests and helps in your enjoyment of this wonderful hobby.

One thought on “60 Stamps In 60 Days

  1. In my oppinion, your blog helps lots of people to understand the beauty of stamp collecting, and it’s doing that so very well. Warm regards, Catalin

    Like

Leave a Reply

