Bergedorf #3 (1861) - forgery

Bergedorf #3 (1861)

The northern German city of Bergedorf — south-east of Hamburg — received town privileges in 1275. It was then a part of the younger Duchy of Saxony (1180–1296), which was partitioned by its four co-ruling dukes in 1296 into the branch duchies of Saxe-Lauenburg and Saxe-Wittenberg. Bergedorf then became part of the former. This was only to last until 1303, when Lauenburg’s three co-ruling dukes, Albert … Continue reading Bergedorf #3 (1861)