United States -#1271 (1965)

The U.S. Territory of Florida

On March 30, 1822, the Spanish provinces of Florida Oriental (East Florida) and Florida Occidental (West Florida) — divided by the British in 1763 following the French and Indian War (the Seven Years’ War) out of the former Spanish territory of La Florida — became the United States  Territory of Florida. This organized incorporated territory existed until March 3, 1845, when it was admitted to the Union as the State of Florida. Ceded … Continue reading The U.S. Territory of Florida

Lithuania #848b (2007)

The Republic of Lithuania (Lietuvos Respublika), is a country located in Northern Europe between latitudes 53° and 57° N, and mostly between longitudes 21° and 27° E (part of the Curonian Spit lies west of 21°). One of the three Baltic states, it is situated along the southeastern shore of the Baltic Sea, to the east of Sweden and Denmark. It is bordered by Latvia … Continue reading Lithuania #848b (2007)

Liberia #CB4 (1954)

The Republic of Liberia is a is a country on the West African coast which was founded, established, colonized, and controlled by citizens of the United States and ex-Caribbean slaves as a colony for former African American slaves and their free black descendants. The African American settlers carried their culture with them to Liberia. The Liberian constitution and flag were modeled after those of the U.S. … Continue reading Liberia #CB4 (1954)

Latvia - Ainaži Lighthouse (2014)

Latvia – Ainaži Lighthouse (2014)

  The Republic of Latvia (Latvijas Republika), is a country in the Baltic region of Northern Europe, one of the three Baltic states. The total length of its land boundary is 850 miles (1,368 kilometers), of which 213 miles (343 km) is shared with Estonia to the north, 171 miles (276 km) with the Russian Federation to the east, 100 miles (161 km) with Belarus to … Continue reading Latvia – Ainaži Lighthouse (2014)

Leeward Islands #118 (1949)

Leeward Islands #118 (1949)

The Leeward Islands are a group of islands in the West Indies,  referring to the northern islands of the Lesser Antilles chain. As a group they start east of Puerto Rico and reach southward to Dominica. They are situated where the northeastern Caribbean Sea meets the western Atlantic Ocean. The more southerly part of the Lesser Antilles chain are called the Windward Islands. The British … Continue reading Leeward Islands #118 (1949)

Kyrgyzstan #B8 (1995)

Kyrgyzstan #B8 (1995)

Kyrgyzstan (Кыргызстан in Kyrgz, Киргизия in Russian), officially the Kyrgyz Republic (Кыргыз Республикасы — Kırgız Respublikası in Kyrgyz, Кыргызская Республика — Kyrgyzskaya Respublika in Russian), formerly known as Kirghizia, is a country in Central Asia. Landlocked and mountainous, Kyrgyzstan is bordered by Kazakhstan to the north, Uzbekistan to the west and southwest, Tajikistan to the southwest and China to the east. Kyrgyzstan is farther from the sea than … Continue reading Kyrgyzstan #B8 (1995)