South West Africa #97 (1927)

South West Africa (Suidwes-Afrika in Afrikaans, Zuidwest-Afrika in Dutch, and Südwestafrika in German) was occupied by South African troops from 1915, and a mandate of that country by the Treaty of Versailles in 1919 until it achieved independence as Namibia in 1990. Located in southern Africa with the Atlantic Ocean as its western border, the present-day country shares land borders with Zambia and Angola to the … Continue reading South West Africa #97 (1927)