The Treaty of Waitangi

On February 6, 1840, the Treaty of Waitangi ITe Tiriti o Waitangi in Māori) was signed by representatives of the British Crown and Māori chiefs (rangatira), establishing New Zealand as a British colony.The Treaty of Waitangi. It is a document of central importance to the history and political constitution of the state of New Zealand, and has been highly significant in framing the political relations between … Continue reading The Treaty of Waitangi