South West Africa #97 (1927)

South West Africa (Suidwes-Afrika in Afrikaans, Zuidwest-Afrika in Dutch, and Südwestafrika in German) was occupied by South African troops from 1915, and a mandate of that country by the Treaty of Versailles in 1919 until it achieved independence as Namibia in 1990. Located in southern Africa with the Atlantic Ocean as its western border, the present-day country shares land borders with Zambia and Angola to the … Continue reading South West Africa #97 (1927)

Seychelles #125 (1938)

The British Crown Colony of Seychelles existed as a colony in its own right between 1903 until it became an independent republit within the British Commonwealth in 1976. It is an archipelago of 115 islands located in the Indian Ocean, northeast of Madagascar and about 994 miles (1,600 kilometers) east of Kenya. Other nearby island countries and territories include Comoros, Mayotte, Madagascar, Réunion, and Mauritius to the … Continue reading Seychelles #125 (1938)

Uganda, Republic of #1174 (1993)

As a collector striving to find at least one stamp from every issuing entity since 1840, I sometimes have odd omissions. For certain countries, I have a limited number of stamps and sometimes the stamps I do have are ones that I’m not that fond of. No, I do not love every stamp! One of my favorite methods of obtaining a great variety of stamps … Continue reading Uganda, Republic of #1174 (1993)

The Accession of Queen Victoria

On June 20, 1837, King William IV of the United Kingdom died at the age of 71 and Victoria began her nearly 64-year reign as queen. She had turned 18 years old less than a month before. Born Alexandrina Victoria on May 24, 1819, she was Queen of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland until her death on January 22, 1901. From May 1, … Continue reading The Accession of Queen Victoria

Pitcairn Islands #6 (1940)

Pitcairn Islands #6 (1940)

The Pitcairn Islands (Pitkern Ailen in Pitkern) is officially called Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands. They form the southeasternmost extension of the geological archipelago of the Tuamotus of French Polynesia, consisting of four volcanic islands in the southern Pacific Ocean: Pitcairn Island, Oeno Island (an atoll with five islets, one of which is Sandy Island), Henderson Island and Ducie Island (an atoll with four islets). … Continue reading Pitcairn Islands #6 (1940)

British Crown Colony of Mauritius H&G #B10 (1878)

Mauritius was a British colonial possession from 1810 to 1968, the year of its independence. The island of Mauritius is of towering importance in the world of philately for a number of reasons. Its first two postage stamps issued in 1847, called the “Post Office” stamps, are of legendary rarity and value. They were the first stamps issued in any part of the British Empire outside … Continue reading British Crown Colony of Mauritius H&G #B10 (1878)

Maldives #735 (1978)

Maldives, Republic of #735 (1978)

The Republic of Maldives (ދިވެހިރާއްޖޭގެ ޖުމްހޫރިއްޔާ — Dhivehi Raa’jeyge Jumhooriyya), is a South Asian island country, located in the Indian Ocean, situated in the Arabian Sea. It lies southwest of India and Sri Lanka. It consists of 1,192 coral islands grouped in a double chain of 26 atolls, along the north-south direction, spread over roughly 35,000 square miles (90,000 square kilometers), making this one of the world’s … Continue reading Maldives, Republic of #735 (1978)

Leeward Islands #118 (1949)

Leeward Islands #118 (1949)

The Leeward Islands are a group of islands in the West Indies,  referring to the northern islands of the Lesser Antilles chain. As a group they start east of Puerto Rico and reach southward to Dominica. They are situated where the northeastern Caribbean Sea meets the western Atlantic Ocean. The more southerly part of the Lesser Antilles chain are called the Windward Islands. The British … Continue reading Leeward Islands #118 (1949)