Swaziland Protectorate #10 (1933)

The Swaziland Protectorate was established in 1903 after Great Britain’s victory in the Anglo-Boer War. Much of its early administration (for example, postal services) was carried out from South Africa until 1906 when the Transvaal colony was granted self-government. Following this, Swaziland was partitioned into European and non-European (or native reserves) areas with the former being two-thirds of the total land. At no more than 120 … Continue reading Swaziland Protectorate #10 (1933)

Uganda, Republic of #1174 (1993)

As a collector striving to find at least one stamp from every issuing entity since 1840, I sometimes have odd omissions. For certain countries, I have a limited number of stamps and sometimes the stamps I do have are ones that I’m not that fond of. No, I do not love every stamp! One of my favorite methods of obtaining a great variety of stamps … Continue reading Uganda, Republic of #1174 (1993)

Sieera Leone #141 (1932)

Sierra Leone #141 (1932)

The present-day Republic of Sierra Leone was first colonized by the British in 1808 and, until it achieved its independence in 1961, had been both a colony and a protectorate of the United Kingdom and was occasionally administered as part of a separate colony or larger entity. For most of that period, it has retained roughly the same boundaries which currently shares borders with Guinea to … Continue reading Sierra Leone #141 (1932)

Qu'aiti State of Shihr and Mukalla #13 (1946)

Qu’aiti Sultanate of Shihr and Mukalla #13 (1946)

The Qu’aiti Sultanate of Shihr and Mukalla (سلطنة الشحر والمكلاا‎‎  — al-Salṭanah al-Qu‘ayṭīyah fī ash-Shiḥr wal-Mukallā in Arabic), was a sultanate in the Hadhramaut region of the southern Arabian Peninsula, in what is now Yemen. Covering 73,359 square miles (190,000 km²), roughly the size of England and Wales, Qu’aiti was the third largest kingdom in Arabia after the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and the Sultanate of … Continue reading Qu’aiti Sultanate of Shihr and Mukalla #13 (1946)

Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania #105 (1958)

Kenya, Uganda, Tanganyika #105 (1958)

The region of British East Africa has quite a complicated postal history with stamps of the area receiving numerous identifying inscriptions since their first release in May 1890, bearing the name of a company —  British East Africa Company — instead of a place name. Stamps released in October of that year saw the inscription changed to Imperial British East Africa Company; these were overprinted British East Africa in July 1895 … Continue reading Kenya, Uganda, Tanganyika #105 (1958)

Kathiri State of Seiyun #13 (1946)

Kathiri State of Seiyun #13 (1946)

The Kathiri State of Seiyun in Hadhramaut (السلطنة الكثيرية – سيؤن – حضرموت‎‎ — al-Salṭanah al-Kathīrīyah Sayʾūn  Ḥaḍramawt) was a sultanate in the Hadhramaut region of the southern Arabian Peninsula, in what is now part of Yemen and the Dhofar region of Oman. From 1940, Kathiri was administered as part of the Eastern Protectorate of the Aden Protectorate (محمية عدن‎‎ — Maḥmiyyat ‘Adan), a British protectorate … Continue reading Kathiri State of Seiyun #13 (1946)

Gilbert and Ellice Islands #40 (1939)

The Gilbert and Ellice Islands were a British protectorate from 1892 and colony from 1916 until January 1, 1976, when the islands were divided into two colonies which became the independent nations of Kiribati and Tuvalu shortly after. The Gilbert Islands (formerly Kingsmill Islands) are a chain of sixteen atolls and coral islands arranged in an approximate north-to-south line in the western Pacific Ocean that are … Continue reading Gilbert and Ellice Islands #40 (1939)

British Solomon Islands #68 (1939)

British Solomon Islands #68 (1939)

The Solomon Islands archipelago is a collection of Melanesian Islands in the western South Pacific Ocean, located northeast of Australia. They are in the Melanesia subregion and bioregion of Oceania. The islands have been inhabited for at least 30,000 years and were first visited by Europeans in 1568 by the Spanish navigator Álvaro de Mendaña who named them the Islas Salomón. Germany proclaimed the more northernly … Continue reading British Solomon Islands #68 (1939)