The skuas are a group of seabirds with about seven species forming the family Stercorariidae and the genus Stercorarius. The three smaller skuas are called jaegers in American English.  The English word “skua” comes from the Faroese name skúgvur for the great skua, with the island of Skúvoy renowned for its colony of that bird. The general Faroese term for skuas is kjógvi. The word … Continue reading Skuas

Wallis and Futuna #43 (1930)

The Territory of the Wallis and Futuna Islands (Wallis-et-Futuna or Territoire des îles Wallis-et-Futuna in French or Uvea mo Futuna in Fakauvea and Fakafutuna), is a French island collectivity in the South Pacific between Tuvalu to the northwest, Fiji to the southwest, Tonga to the southeast, Samoa to the east, and Tokelau to the northeast. Though both French and Polynesian, Wallis and Futuna is distinct … Continue reading Wallis and Futuna #43 (1930)

Senegal #203 (1961)

Senegal, Republic of #203 (1961)

The Republic of Senegal (République du Sénégal), is a country in West Africa bordered by Mauritania in the north, Mali to the east, Guinea to the southeast, and Guinea-Bissau to the southwest. Senegal also borders The Gambia, a country occupying a narrow sliver of land along the banks of the Gambia River, which separates Senegal’s southern region of Casamance from the rest of the country. … Continue reading Senegal, Republic of #203 (1961)

Senegal #146 (1935)

Senegal [French Colony] #146 (1935)

The French conquest of Sénégal in western Africa began in 1659 with the establishment of Saint-Louis followed by the French capture of the island of Gorée from the Dutch in 1677, but would only become a full-scale campaign in the nineteenth century. The territory was a part of French West Africa (Afrique occidentale française, AOF) — a federation of eight French colonial territories in Africa: Mauritania, Senegal, French … Continue reading Senegal [French Colony] #146 (1935)

Saar #288 (1957)

Saar [German Administration] #288 (1957)

The Saarland (das Saarland in German la Sarre in French) is one of the sixteen states (or Bundesländer) of the Federal Republic of Germany. The state borders France (département of Moselle, which forms part of the région of Grand Est) to the south and west, Luxembourg (Grevenmacher District) to the west and Rheinland-Pfalz to the north and the east. It is named after the Saar River, a … Continue reading Saar [German Administration] #288 (1957)

Inini #5 (1932)

Inini #5 (1932)

The Territory of Inini (Territoire de L’Inini) was an inland territory of French Guiana, administered separately between July 6, 1930, and March 19, 1946, after which all of French Guiana became a department of France. It covered 30,301 square miles (78 479 square kilometers) and its capital was Saint-Élie. The purpose for the separate territory was to develop the interior separately from the coastal area around Cayenne. The … Continue reading Inini #5 (1932)

Anjouan #4 (1892)

Anjouan #4 (1892)

Anjouan is the easternmost of the Comoro Islands (Shikomori Komori in the Comorian language, جزر القمر ‎‎or Juzur al-Qamar in Arabic, Les Comores in French), an archipelago of volcanic islands off the south-east coast of Africa, to the east of Mozambique and north-west of Madagascar.  The island is also known as Ndzuwani or Nzwani, and its chief town is Mutsamudu. The total area of the island is 424 square kilometers (163 … Continue reading Anjouan #4 (1892)

Afars And Issas #319 (1968)

Afars and Issas #319 (1968)

The French overseas territory of Afars and Issas issued stamps under that  name  for just under ten years but had evolved out of the original Territory of Obock and then as Côte Française des Somalis (French Somali Coast) before its renaming in 1967 to Territoire Français des Afars et des Issas.  This was to recognize the two primary clans of people that live in the area.  On … Continue reading Afars and Issas #319 (1968)