Cretan State #53 (1900)

The Cretan State (Κρητική Πολιτεία — Kritiki Politia — in Greek or كريد دولتى‎ — Girit Devleti — in Ottoman Turkish) was established in 1898, following the intervention by the Great Powers (Britain, France, Italy, Austria-Hungary, and Russia) on the island of Crete. In 1897, an insurrection in Crete led the Ottoman Empire to declare war on Greece, which led Great Britain, France, Italy and Russia to … Continue reading Cretan State #53 (1900)

Aegean Islands (Dodecanese) #2 (1912)

Aegean Islands #2 (1912)

The Aegean Islands, or Dodecanese, are a group of islands just to the west of Turkey that were occupied by Italy during the Italo-Turkish War in 1912 until the end of World War II.  Although the name means “twelve islands”, there were actually fourteen in the Italian occupation including Rhodes and Castelrosso.  Overprinted Italian stamps were used for all of the islands with two stamps … Continue reading Aegean Islands #2 (1912)