Captain Francis Light and the Early Years of Penang

On August 11, 1786, Captain Francis Light of the British East India Company established the British Settlement of Prince of Wales Island which later became the Colony of Penang in what is now Malaysia. The capital of the colony —George Town — was the first British colony in Southeast Asia. Captain Light had previously tried to convince the East India Company to establish a settlement on Phuket … Continue reading Captain Francis Light and the Early Years of Penang

North Borneo #108 (1901)

The State of North Borneo (Borneo Utara) was a British protectorate located in the northern part of the island of Borneo. The territory of North Borneo was originally established by concessions of the Sultanates of Brunei and Sulu in 1877 and 1878 to an Austrian-German businessman and diplomat, von Overbeck. Overbeck had recently purchased a small tract of land in the western coast of Borneo … Continue reading North Borneo #108 (1901)

Straits Settlements #15 (1867)

The Straits Settlements #15 (1867)

The Straits Settlements (نݢري٢ سلت — Negeri-negeri Selat in Malay or 叻嶼呷/海峽殖民地in Chinese) were a group of British territories located in Southeast Asia. Originally established in 1826 as part of the territories controlled by the British East India Company, the Straits Settlements came under direct British control as a Crown colony on April 1, 1867. The colony was dissolved in 1946 as part of the British … Continue reading The Straits Settlements #15 (1867)

Singapore #571 (1990)

Singapore #571 (1990)

The Republic of Singapore, sometimes referred to as the Lion City, the Garden City or the Little Red Dot, is a sovereign city-state in Southeast Asia. It lies one degree (137 kilometers) north of the equator, at the southern tip of peninsular Malaysia, with Indonesia’s Riau Islands to the south. Singapore’s territory consists of 63 islands, including the main island, Pulau Ujong. There are two … Continue reading Singapore #571 (1990)

Penang #46 (1957)

Penang [State of Malaya] #46 (1957)

Formerly a member of the Straits Settlements, the former Crown Colony of Penang — along with the coastal strip known as Province Welleseley — became a state of the Federation of Malaya in 1949. When Malaya achieved its independence from the United Kingdom in 1957, Penang was integrated as part of the federation, which was renamed Malaysia when it merged with the territories 0f British Borneo in 1963. … Continue reading Penang [State of Malaya] #46 (1957)

Malacca #86 (1979)

Malacca [State of Malaysia] #86 (1979)

Malacca (Melaka in Malay, மலாக்கா in Tamil and 马六甲 in Chinese), dubbed “The Historic State”, is a state in Malaysia and upon the southwestern coast of the Malay Peninsula opposite Sumatra, with the state of Negeri Sembilan to the north and west and Johor to the east. Malacca is situated roughly two-thirds of the way down the west coast and commands a central position on … Continue reading Malacca [State of Malaysia] #86 (1979)

Johor #196 (1986}

Johore [State of Malaysia] #196 (1986)

Johor (جوهر) is the southernmost state of Malaysia, located between the 1°20″N and 2°35″N latitudes in the southern portion of Peninsular Malaysia. It is the fifth largest state by land area and second most populous state in Malaysia, with a total land area of 7,420 square miles (19,210 km²), and a population of 3,233,434 as of 2010. Johor is surrounded by Pahang to the north, … Continue reading Johore [State of Malaysia] #196 (1986)