Stamford Raffles & the Founding of Modern Singapore

On January 29, 1819, Sir Thomas Stamford Bingley Raffles, FRS, arrived at Singapore after having landed on Saint John’s Island the previous day. He soon recognized the island as a natural choice for the new port.The establishment of a British trading post there by Raffles led to its founding as a British colony in 1824. This event has generally been understood to mark the founding … Continue reading Stamford Raffles & the Founding of Modern Singapore

Singapore - Scott #782 (1997)

Jinrickshaws & the Expulsion of Singapore

On August 9, 1965, Singapore was expelled from Malaysia and became the only country to date to gain independence unwillingly. Malaysia had been formed on September 16, 1963, as a new political entity from the merger of the Federation of Malaya with the former British colonies of North Borneo, Sarawak and Singapore. This marked the end of a 144-year period of British rule in Singapore, beginning … Continue reading Jinrickshaws & the Expulsion of Singapore

The Damselfly

Damselflies are insects of the suborder Zygoptera in the order Odonata. They are similar to dragonflies, which constitute the other odonatan suborder, Anisoptera, but are smaller, have slimmer bodies, and most species fold the wings along the body when at rest. An ancient group, damselflies have existed since at least the Lower Permian, and are found on every continent except Antarctica. All damselflies are predatory; … Continue reading The Damselfly

Straits Settlements #15 (1867)

The Straits Settlements #15 (1867)

The Straits Settlements (نݢري٢ سلت — Negeri-negeri Selat in Malay or 叻嶼呷/海峽殖民地in Chinese) were a group of British territories located in Southeast Asia. Originally established in 1826 as part of the territories controlled by the British East India Company, the Straits Settlements came under direct British control as a Crown colony on April 1, 1867. The colony was dissolved in 1946 as part of the British … Continue reading The Straits Settlements #15 (1867)

Singapore #571 (1990)

Singapore #571 (1990)

The Republic of Singapore, sometimes referred to as the Lion City, the Garden City or the Little Red Dot, is a sovereign city-state in Southeast Asia. It lies one degree (137 kilometers) north of the equator, at the southern tip of peninsular Malaysia, with Indonesia’s Riau Islands to the south. Singapore’s territory consists of 63 islands, including the main island, Pulau Ujong. There are two … Continue reading Singapore #571 (1990)

Federation of Malaya #101 (1961)

Federation of Malaya #101 (1961)

The Federation of Malaya (Persekutuan Tanah Melayu in Malay and ڤرسكوتوان تانه ملايو in Jawi) was a federation of 11 states (nine Malay states and two of the British Straits Settlements, Penang and Malacca) that existed from February 1, 1948, until September 16, 1963. The Federation became independent on August 31, 1957, and in 1963 Malaysia was formed with the Singapore, North Borneo, and Sarawak … Continue reading Federation of Malaya #101 (1961)