United States -#1271 (1965)

The U.S. Territory of Florida

On March 30, 1822, the Spanish provinces of Florida Oriental (East Florida) and Florida Occidental (West Florida) — divided by the British in 1763 following the French and Indian War (the Seven Years’ War) out of the former Spanish territory of La Florida — became the United States  Territory of Florida. This organized incorporated territory existed until March 3, 1845, when it was admitted to the Union as the State of Florida. Ceded … Continue reading The U.S. Territory of Florida