United States #4493 (2011)

Kansas Statehood

On January 29, 1861, Kansas was admitted to the United States as the 34th state to enter the Union. Located on the eastern edge of the Great Plains in the Midwestern U.S., the region was the home of nomadic Native American tribes who hunted the vast herds of bison (often called “buffalo”). Kansas is named after the Kansa Native American tribe, which is often said to mean “people of … Continue reading Kansas Statehood

United States #903 (1941)

Independence of New Connecticut

On January 15, 1777, representatives of the New Hampshire Grants declared the independence of the Vermont Republic. For the first six months of its existence, it was called the Republic of New Connecticut. On June 2, 1777, a second convention of 72 delegates met and adopted the name “Vermont.” This was on the advice of a friendly Pennsylvanian, Dr. Thomas Young, friend and mentor of Ethan … Continue reading Independence of New Connecticut

United States #763 (1935)

Utah Statehood

On January 4, 1896, Utah became the 45th state admitted to the United States, following nearly 50 years as a territory. The entire Southwest was Mexican territory when the first pioneers arrived in 1847. Utah is the 13th-largest by area, 31st-most-populous, and 10th-least-densely populated of the 50 United States. It has a population of more than 3 million (Census estimate for July 1, 2016), approximately 80% of … Continue reading Utah Statehood

United States #800 (1937)

Alaska Statehood

On January 3, 1959, the Territory of Alaska was admitted to the United States as its 49th state. The 663,268 square miles (1,717,856 km²) of land had been purchased from the Russian Empire on March 30, 1867, for 7.2 million U.S. dollars at approximately two cents per acre ($4.74/km²). The area went through several administrative changes before becoming organized as a territory on May 11, 1912. Alaska … Continue reading Alaska Statehood

United States #1308 (1966)

200 Years of Indiana Statehood

Today marks the bicentennial of the state of Indiana’s admission to the United States. On December 11, 1816, the territory was admitted to the Union as its nineteenth state. Indiana is the 38th largest by area and the 16th most populous of the 50 states. Its capital and largest city is Indianapolis. The state’s name means “Land of the Indians”, or simply “Indian Land” and stems … Continue reading 200 Years of Indiana Statehood

United States #858 (1939)

U.S. Dakota Territory Becomes Two States

On November 2, 1889, the United States Territory of Dakota was split and the two halves were admitted into the Union as the separate states of North Dakota and South Dakota. President Benjamin Harrison signed proclamations formally admitting both states but had the papers shuffled to obscure which one was signed first and the order went unrecorded.  They were the 39th and 40th states to be … Continue reading U.S. Dakota Territory Becomes Two States