Wyoming Statehood

On July 10, 1890, Wyoming was admitted to the United States of America as the Union’s 44th state. It is located in the mountain region of the western United States. As specified in the designating legislation for the Territory of Wyoming — which was founded on July 25, 1868 — Wyoming’s borders are lines of latitude, 41°N and 45°N, and longitude, 104°3’W and 111°3’W (27° … Continue reading Wyoming Statehood

New Hampshire Statehood

On June 21, 1788, New Hampshire ratified the Constitution of the United States and was admitted as the ninth state in the United States.  It is part of the New England region of the northeastern United States. The state is bordered by Massachusetts to the south, Vermont to the west, Maine and the Atlantic Ocean to the east, and the Canadian province of Quebec to the … Continue reading New Hampshire Statehood

West Virginia Statehood

On June 20, 1863, West Virginia was admitted as the 35th state of the United States of America. Located in the Appalachian Mountain range, the state covers an area of 24,229.76 square miles (62,754.8 km²), with 24,077.73 square miles (62,361.0 km²) of land and 152.03 square miles (393.8 km²) of water, making it the 41st largest state in the United States. West Virginia borders Pennsylvania and … Continue reading West Virginia Statehood

United States - Scott #726 (1933)

James Oglethorpe & the Royal Charter for Georgia

On June 9, 1739, the privy council of King George II finalized the corporate charter for the Province of Georgia. This royal charter was granted to General James Oglethorpe on April 21, 1732, for land lying between the Savannah and Altamaha rivers. Oglethorpe envisioned a colony which would serve as a haven for English subjects who had been imprisoned for debt. General Oglethorpe imposed very strict … Continue reading James Oglethorpe & the Royal Charter for Georgia