Zambia #137 (1975)

The Republic of Zambia, is a landlocked country in Southern Africa, neighbouring the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the north, Tanzaniato the north-east, Malawi to the east, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Botswana, and Namibia to the south, and Angola to the west. The capital city is Lusaka, in the south-central part of Zambia. The population is concentrated mainly around Lusaka in the south and the Copperbelt Province to the northwest, the core economic hubs of the country. Originally inhabited by Khoisan peoples, the region was … Continue reading Zambia #137 (1975)

Rhodesia & Nyasaland #143B (1956)

Rhodesia & Nyasaland #143B (1956)

The Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland, also known as the Central African Federation (CAF), was a semi-independent federation of three southern African territories — the self-governing British colony of Southern Rhodesia and the British protectorates of Northern Rhodesia and Nyasaland — between 1953 and 1963. The Federation was established on August 1, 1953, with a Governor-General as the Queen’s representative at the center. An interesting … Continue reading Rhodesia & Nyasaland #143B (1956)

Southern Rhodesia #37A (1938)

Dr. Livingstone Views Victoria Falls

On November 16, 1855, Scottish missionary and explorer David Livingstone is believed to have been the first European to view Victoria Falls in southern Africa at the border of the present-day nations of Zambia and Zimbabwe from what is now known as Livingstone Island — one of two land masses in the middle of the Zambezi River, immediately upstream from the falls on the Zambian side. … Continue reading Dr. Livingstone Views Victoria Falls